Quarterlife+


Girl Power over snow towers

Posted in Aging,Random Experiences by Ashley Franklin on February 17, 2010
Tags: , , , ,
Well, girl power is pretty much all we had for snow storm number two. Well, I think it was snow storm number two. At this point, I’ve lost count. Amazingly enough, it’s snowing again. I’ve lived on the east coast my entire life, and I’ve never seen this much snow. NEVER!

My folks were out-of-town for the last snow storm, so guess who that left to shovel the walkway? If you guessed me and my 16-year-old sister, you’re correct! Now neither of us are frail, we’re some pretty “sturdy” girls. However, we are not that tall. I vow that I am 5’0 and she declares that she’s 5’2. The snow piled up from two storms coupled with the wind blowing all the snow around, there was spots where the snow was all the way up to our unmentionables! Seriously, some body parts are NOT meant to be frosty.

We shoveled enough snow to be able to use the walkway and reach the street. All of my siblings had off all week. I still had to go to work. I was jealous. That’s neither here nor there. What was amazing, was how out of shape I realized I am after shoveling snow. My back was burning. My knees ached. My shoulders hurt.

Alas, I’ve discovered my next project: I must get myself together and detour off this obvious road of fatness. Well, it wasn’t just the snow shoveling that gave the idea. It was just the icing on the cake. I was looking at myself in the mirror and was displeased. When did my back mutate into a caterpillar back? How old am I again? Unacceptable! So, it looks like I need to make a plan of attack before the fat keeps attacking my back….and the rest of me. I love sweets and I love potatoes. I know I would be a lot better off without them, but what should I replace them with? I tried quitting cold turkey, but went through withdrawl from sugar cravings. I gave in.

Leave a Reply

