Quarterlife+


A Gift of Flowers

Posted in 1 by Ashley Franklin on March 24, 2010
Tags: , , , , ,

Did you ever get something small but it made your day just the same? About a week ago I received a white flower, freshly picked. This may not seem like a big deal to most, but being the sentimental chump that I am, it was to me. Not only did I get one flower, but I got two flowers. It made me think of a few clichés. You know them:
“Diamonds are a girl’s best friend.” “It’s the thought that counts.” “The best things in life are free.”

Can I really be this much of a sentimental sap? The last time someone gave me flowers was a few months ago. My pre-hubby, as I sometimes like to call him, sent me flowers to my job. It was the first time someone had ever done that for me. I felt extra special and the ladies at my job were super jealous (added bonus!). So where did I get these homegrown flowers? From my pre-hubby’s dad and little sister. I recently moved across the country, away from my immediate family. Huge transition! I’ve never had diamonds, but I’m sure they would be nice. Do I think they would be great enough to be my best friend? I’m not too sure about that. I like to communicate with my best friend. Last time I checked, diamonds don’t talk back. If anyone knows otherwise, please let me know.

That leaves the last two. I highly doubt that my pre-hubby comes from a family of mind readers.  And yes, the flowers were free. Two people freely thought to take a few minutes out of their day to pick a flower–for me! They didn’t have to. It’s nice to know that someone is thinking about you. The flowers were a small gesture with a big impact. Away from family, away from friends, far away from my old home, the flowers’ message was quite clear: Home is where the heart is, and the heart is full of love.

Leave a Reply

