Quarterlife+


The Fat Smash Diet: Dead to me

Posted in Diet,Life changes by Ashley Franklin on June 9, 2010

The Fat Smash Diet did not fail me. For symmetry’s sake, I should say I failed it. Well, don’t hold your breath for that. I got to the middle of phase 2. Did I cheat? No. Did I give up? No. I quit. Sticking to the diet wasn’t all that hard. I quit for two reasons: 1-I wasn’t exercising as much as I should have been and 2-I was growing increasingly irritable.

Perhaps someone with a more distinguished pallet would have done quite well. I don’t eat that many vegetables. I eat broccoli, can tolerate spinach, and green beans aren’t bad. Needless to say, nearly three weeks of those vegetables didn’t take me very far. I did much better with eating fruit. My husband even made a special trip to the market to make sure I had what I needed. I ate strawberries, grapes, kiwis, pineapples, oranges, apples, bananas, watermelon, and mangoes.

Well, here’s what happened: I went to eat my broccoli one day and literally gagged. I was all “broccolied” out. It pretty much went the same for the rest of the vegetables. The fruit was continuously delicious. It just went bad so quickly.

There is one thing I found questionable. I bought The Fat Smash Diet audiobook. It includes recipes and possible eating and exercising schedules that you  can access on your computer. The recipes include several things that are supposed to be off-limit according to the phase you are on. So the question became: To follow the recipes or follow the guide? I’m honestly still not sure.

I may give The Fat Smash Diet another try in the future, when I know I will be more committed to the exercise. Much to my chagrin, many of the recipes call for beans. I despise beans. I’m not even fond of jellybeans. I have gained a new appreciation of brown rice. I also use less butter and sugar when I’m cooking. Those are life changes. The diet was a temporary change that was to encourage life changes. I may not have lost drastic amounts of weight, but I’ll take a life change over that any day. Besides, enough life changes just may add up to weight loss anyway.

Leave a Reply

