Quarterlife+


What’s in a name…or a hair-do?

It’s not even 9A.M. What am I doing? Writing? No. Other freelance  work? No. Cooking breakfast? No again. I am sitting in the middle of my living room under my Gold n Hot hair dryer. After what was a long and irritating quest, I did find a sit-under dryer at Sally’s Beauty Supply. The last time I did my hair was a little over two weeks ago, and that took so much prep work that I never got around to posting the pictures (next post, I promise). The Jane Carter Twist and Loc stuff I was using was out of stock. Yes, I went to the company website and they were out of stock. I ended up having to buy it off of Amazon because I couldn’t find it at anywhere.

To make a long story short: Loc cream: Amazon, Shampoo: Target, Dryer: Sally’s, Tea Tree Oil: Random Hair Store

It seems like a bunch of fuss, but does it really matter? Yes. I feel better when my hair is done-almost like a brand new person. What gives you that brand new feel? A new outfit? For me, it’s my hair. The thing is, my hair has to be done how I like it. It could be done in a nice style, but if I don’t like it, I don’t like it. I’m particular.

Today’s a big day (aside from my hair being finally finished). I’m also finally changing my last name. There’s no rhyme or reason as to why it’s being done now. But I’ll say this: I AM SO EXCITED! Yes, it is all caps worthy.

Will I feel like a new person once I have my husband’s last name? I’m not sure. Will it give me that fresh hair-do feel? It may be even better? What about my old name? I feel like I’m washing it away, or off of me. I’m not all that attached to it, but I have had it for nearly 26 years.

Out with the old, and in with the new. I’ll let you know if I feel any different after it’s a done deal.

**UPDATE**

I got my social security card. Here’s how I chose my namesake. It’s not a virus, I promise. It’s a link to my other blog.

2 Responses to 'What’s in a name…or a hair-do?'

Subscribe to comments with RSS or TrackBack to 'What’s in a name…or a hair-do?'.

  1. P.S. Jones said,

    Good for you changing your name (or hyphenating it.) I changed my personal life but not for my freelance career for obvious reasons. Marrying someone without changing your name to theirs is like signing with a team and refusing to wear the jersey. Besides it’s only takes two trips. One to the DMV and one to the SS office. Everything else is just a phone call when you’re ready.

    • transego said,

      I feel like my name change is in limbo since I won’t get the actual card for 2 weeks. I did, however, get a nifty receipt saying that it will happen. I wasn’t that attached to my maiden name (that phrase sounds hundreds of years old-I don’t like it), so I just tossed it. Besides, hyphenated names make me think the person was indecisive and my…pre-marriage (long, but still effective at avoiding that other phrase) last name wasn’t exciting enough to hold on to.


Leave a Reply

