Quarterlife+


Ramadan: Observation 2

Posted in Life,Random Experiences by Ashley Franklin on August 13, 2010
Tags: , , , , , , ,

Do you know how early 5am is? Well, think a little earlier than that, and that’s how early I’ve been up the last couple of days. I try to make sure that my husband eats breakfast before it’s time to start fasting. It’s the least I can do, in my opinion. It makes me feel involved. Well, if only I was a morning person. Unfortunately, I’m just not.

Despite having set my alarm clock, for 4:15, I managed to sleep through it and until 4:55. I jumped out of bed wondering how I could make a filling breakfast in 15 minutes or less. I turned all the burners on high and the result wasn’t that bad.  I managed to fix fried potatoes, oatmeal with pecans and raisins (not instant), and egg & cheese (with onions and peppers of course).

Dinner last night was equally as frantic. My husband and I had been scouring the land searching for curtains in the heat. It was well after 6pm when we got back, and dinner was still frozen. I conjured up a mini meal so he could break his fast–grapes, nuts, dates, grilled cheese. Around 8:30pm the real dinner was done–bbq chicken, green beans & potato salad.

Punctuality is obviously going to be key to me helping my husband. I don’t want him to have to worry about the source of his meals while he is fasting and working, especially since I work from home. I doubt that he is worrying about such things. It’s most likely me worrying if I’m going to be able to pull off a meal in a good amount of time on a hectic day. I’m sure everything will be fine with a little planning on my part.

The highlight from yesterday was that I started watching a movie called “The Message.” It’s about the birth of the Islamic faith. I watched about half of it yesterday and hope to finish it up later today. I’m really enjoying it.

Leave a Reply

