Quarterlife+


Frustrations of a freelancer aka Security Suite Virus

Posted in Random Experiences,Writing by Ashley Franklin on August 14, 2010
Tags: , , , ,

Am I actually doing any freelance work right now? No. Why am I not doing any work? Am I just that filthy rich that I don’t have to? Nope, not at all. While looking for websites to do a few DS articles, my computer got super slow all of a sudden. Then, I got a pop up that suddenly told me my computer was infected. Security Suite told me that my computer was unprotected and immediately started scanning my computer.

Here’s the problem: I don’t have Security Suite. I don’t even know what it is. That is, I didn’t know what it was until it continued to scan my computer against my will. That’s when I put my head down and sighed. A virus.

Right now, it won’t even let me restart my computer. I’m on our desktop right now trying to figure out what on earth to do. I did find some instructions on how to fix it. But, I need to restart my computer to get it to work. Step 1 is like restart your computer in safe mode. If only I could, I would be all over it.

So, while I could do some work from this computer, I don’t recall which websites I was on looking for article references. Heaven forbid I infect this computer too. Oh, do I have anti-virus/ spyware on my laptop. Yes, yes I do.

You don’t have to worry about these things when you use pen and paper. Then, your biggest worries are if you’ll lose the paper or run out of either ink or paper.

Maybe I need to get a better anti-virus program. Any suggestions? Until then, wish me luck.

***UPDATE***

1 hour and 2 anti-malware scans later, my computer still isn’t acting right. In fact, the scans said they didn’t find anything. I even cleared up a TDSS infection it had and the scans didn’t catch. (sigh)

**Upperdate** (I know it’s not a word, but I like it!)

After updating an anti- malware program I already had on my computer and re-doing the steps from the website, it looks like I’m virus free.


Leave a Reply

