Quarterlife+


Hear the tick? It’s my biological clock.

Posted in Aging,Life by Ashley Franklin on August 17, 2010
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Occasionally, I feel like there’s a time limit on my ovaries. Sometimes it’s due to my own power of suggestion. Other times, life sends me a small dose of sarcastic hilarity. Recently I got one of those Gerber life insurance things in the mail. Gerber, apparently, thinks that I should be planning for the future of my child (and preparing for its death as an adult). First, though, shouldn’t I have a child?Surely, I should at least be pregnant. And that got me thinking: Am I late?

Isn’t the double meaning of that question fantastic? I love it. Facebook constantly bombards me with ultrasounds, baby announcements, and chronicles of parenthood. It’s not that I don’t care. But, are you more special than I am because you’ve decided to reproduce at this time and I haven’t? Where’s my list of congratulations for still choosing not to be pregnant?

Gerber thinks I’m late. Sometimes I feel late when the same people I used to party with in college are spitting kids out left and right and announcing it to the world on Facebook. But, then I see all their griping in their statuses and I feel better. Last time I had “that yearly checkup,” the gynecologist said “Oh, so you’ve never been pregnant?!” Is that like a “Way to go!” or “Wow, that’s surprising!”? Either way, I gave her a good guffaw.

If I should happen to embark upon parenthood in the near future, will I make grand announcements on Facebook? I doubt it. But, whether I do or don’t, it won’t make me any more special than you.

Leave a Reply

