Quarterlife+


OMG! I Know I Need a Website, but…

Posted in Writing by Ashley Franklin on September 3, 2010
Tags: , ,

Consider this fair warning, I am soooo abusing the use of the colon throughout this post. Yes, even more than the amount of o’s I just assaulted that poor s with. Shriek in disgust if you must.

After being thoroughly but anonymously called out by P.S. Jones, and justly so, I fully understand that I need a website. I’ve thought about it many times. About a year ago I took an online course called Introduction to Internet Writing or Internet Markets. (I promise I learned something even if I don’t remember the title.) But anyway, I knew the importance of having a website then. I try to read a couple of blogs a week, since I’m a freelance newbie for the most part, and every few weeks website talk comes up.

So, the million dollar question: Why don’t I have a website? The answer is simpler than the question: I don’t know what to write.

I know I need a website, but what is it supposed to say? Like, really? I guess the obvious answer would be to talk about my writing. Slight issue: I primarily write online articles that I may or may not be in love with for various reasons. If I try to do more serious writing in the near future, do I really want to be associated with that? However, if I don’t mention those, my website will be severely lacking content. What’s a newbie to do?

I guess I could babble on about my education, but how appealing is it looking like all I’ve done well is be a professional student? We’re all good at something, but give me a break. This is what has me in the mentality that I should wait until I’ve written several worthwhile things before getting a website. Would that really be too awful? How the wind blows on any given day pretty much determines if I’m leaning towards or away from the potential awfulness. Within the next couple of weeks, I hope to have a firm stance one way or the other. If not, I want to at least have a solid plan of action.

2 Responses to 'OMG! I Know I Need a Website, but…'

Subscribe to comments with RSS or TrackBack to 'OMG! I Know I Need a Website, but…'.


  1. You start with three basic parts for now. You talk about how you got here (education background, any writing you’ve done in past jobs, and why you became a freelancer). Then you have a “services” page that outlines the kinds of writing you do. (Yes, it’s ok to have a wide range listed.) And finally, you put up some examples of your work. (And if you don’t have any, you make some up specifically for your portfolio.) That’s where you start and you can add to it as you evolve as a freelancer.

    Don’t worry, I’ll probably write a post about this too because I’ve decided to do a series about websites. And I’ll try to be more detailed in that post than I’ve been here.

  2. Tricia said,

    I’ve been thinking about this a lot too…but my issue is the maintenance of a website. Lately I have the attention span of a mosquito, so the thought of any writing or updating just doesn’t seem feasible to me, but I know it’s so necessary.


Leave a Reply

