Quarterlife+


Fucused: My theme for September… errr October?

Posted in Life,Writing by Ashley Franklin on October 7, 2010
Tags: , , , ,

(Disclaimer: If you’ve stumbled upon this thinking I will be talking about little brown algae-fucus, you are about to be greatly disappointed. Oh well; such is life.)

I started to be slick and completely erase September. You never would have known. Let’s back up a minute though, because you’re probably less concerned about my slackerdom (like….who takes a month to write a post) and more concerned with what I mean by “Fucused.”

What is fucused? In all honesty, a typo when I tried to type focused one day. But, me and my overly analytical self put some thought into what fucused could actually be. It’s multi-focal focus. Huh? Here’s what I mean: When someone asks you to focus, they usually expect you to concentrate on one thing-a goal for example. That simply doesn’t work for me. I have big ideas, big dreams, big expectations.  (I considered using “great” but loathed the idea of using the phrase great expectations.) There are multiple avenues I wish to successfully pursue. They are, however, loosely related if related at all. This gives the appearance that I lack focus.

I am fucused. I am fully committed to expanding my Internet hustles and tweaking them towards my actual interests. Like anyone else, I want to get paid for what I enjoy doing but am fully aware that I have to do what I have to do in the meantime. I don’t have to be the best at anything. I want to be good at many things. What do you think? Would you rather be great at one thing or good at many things? Now that could be a telltale sign of being fucused vs. focused!

So how did a September post slip into an October post? Easy. I had to prioritize my potential gigs against my actual gigs and Internet fun. This blog counts as Internet fun, so it fell to the wayside for a bit. In the end, it was worth it. I landed the potential gig that took up heaps of my time. Better yet, it’s something that I actually like doing. I’ll tell you more about it once I get all my paperwork in order.


Leave a Reply

