Quarterlife+


Family Magentas

Posted in Life by Ashley Franklin on January 1, 2011
Tags: , , , , , , ,

It’s New Year’s Eve. Ever since I’ve been on this Earth, I’ve spent every New Year’s Eve at church. This holds true with maybe an exception of 2. This year I’m spending a quiet evening at home. Well, it’s not really all that quiet. The neighbors have been setting off firecrackers for the past two hours. Throughout the day I’ve been thinking back to past New Year’s Eves. Sometimes the day was filled with shopping for an outfit to wear to the evening church service. There was always a day time nap. Eating chicken and waffles became a ritual maybe 10 or so years ago.

When I think back to those times, I don’t get sad. That’s why I can’t say that I get the blues. I get kind of a fond, warm feeling. It’s more like magenta. Mind you, I wasn’t always fond of dragging myself to church or mixing up waffle batter or deep frying chicken. Still, the memories are there. The events were my constants.

Obviously, I’m not at church today. Do you know where I did go? I went to the mosque for the first time since I got married. That was earlier this evening.  Overall, it was a good experience. I may talk about it more in another post.

Another reason that I can’t feel blue is because I don’t feel lonely.  I really have nothing to be blue over. My time is occupied recalling and looking forward to making more magenta moments.

Leave a Reply

