Quarterlife+


My god-awful in-laws

Posted in Life by Ashley Franklin on January 14, 2011
Tags: , , , , , , ,

They have yet to appear. I know it’s not the norm, but I’m so not even lying. Think about all of the movies, TV shows and friends’ stories that you’ve seen or heard. How many of them are about wonderful in-laws that take the person in as their own and never made him/her feel the least bit uncomfortable? Don’t worry; I’ll wait.

My husband and his mom are so close that I was honestly expecting a monster-in-law situation (good movie by the way). This woman was so nice when I first met her that I thought she was playing mind games. Well over a year later, she hasn’t changed. Either she’s a diabolical genius or she’s authentically this sweet of a person. The same goes for the rest of my husband’s family-from his aunts to his cousins. They’ve been amazing about welcoming me into their family. I couldn’t have asked to be connected to a greater bunch of people.

I know many people who aren’t too fond of their in-laws, so I consider myself to be quite fortunate in this area. My first Christmas away from my own family went pretty well too. Of course I missed doing some of the things my family usually does on the day, but I got to see how another family does the holiday.It was fun. My father in-law has always been a gem, holiday or not.

I don’t really like the term though. “In-laws.” It makes me think of outlaws by default. How could I not think of folk in cowboy hats, spurs? Well, maybe that’s just me and my imagination.

Leave a Reply

