Quarterlife+


My grandma is my best friend

Posted in Aging,Life by Ashley Franklin on January 29, 2011
Tags: , , , ,

What makes your best friend your best friend?

A couple weeks ago, I was on the phone with my grandma (mom-mom as I like to call her). The fact that we were on the phone wasn’t anything special. I talk to her everyday-at least twice. She works part-time. I work from home. I didn’t realize mom mom was my best friend until this particular conversation. It went something like this:

Me: Mom-mom, you’re the only person I talk to everyday. Well…that I don’t live with.

Mom-mom: Yeah, well why do you think that is?

Me: I don’t know. (long for no reason pause) Wait….Mom-mom, are you my best friend?

Mom-mom: You’ve got it! (insert grandma chuckle)

I’d never given it much thought. My grandma–my best friend? How does that happen? I started to wonder if this was normal. Then, as fate would have it, I saw a Humana commercial. If you haven’t seen it, it features a bunch of kids hanging out with their grandparents. And as you can imagine, at least a few make the same declaration about being best friends with their grandparent.

And why wouldn’t she be my best friend? We talk all the time, she gives me encouragement, she tells me when I suck, knows me better than practically anyone else on Earth (versus the other planets, right? lol) and is just plain awesome. Mom-mom has always been my favorite person on the planet. Maybe that’s why I’m so surprised to realize the extent of it. Maybe it has taken me just this long to come to the realization of what a best friend really is.

It used to be someone I shared a bff bracelet with. Then it changed to someone I could convince to go along with any foolish idea I had. Now, it’s someone I know cares for me beyond a shadow of a doubt, wants the best for me, won’t hesitate to tell me when I’m wrong, and pushes me to become a good person. Add a dash of a few decades of wisdom, and that has Mom-mom written all over it.

 

One Response to 'My grandma is my best friend'

Subscribe to comments with RSS or TrackBack to 'My grandma is my best friend'.

  1. waliiy01 said,

    Tear…..Sniff….Sniff…
    You know what? I love mom-mom too. And I admire the way that you dedicate your attention to her. Most people don’t look toward their ancestors any more for advice, criticism, or just plain old fashioned conversation. Its an abandoned practice. But you my dear, you’ve got something special going on up there. Cherish those moments you have with your “mom-mom”. She is a priceless gift to you.


Leave a Reply

