Quarterlife+


The Writing Process

Posted in Uncategorized by Ashley Franklin on April 18, 2015
Tags: ,

Somewhere down the line, I’ve heard many folk say that people make time for what they want. Now, I’ve usually heard it within the context of relationships, but I think it has a general appeal as well. I don’t have a lot of down time. Juggling being with my kids nearly 24/7 and also working from my home, the subject of sleep is often more of a question than a statement. Nevertheless, I’ve found time to write.

I haven’t essentially dropped any other responsibilities. No more hours were added to the day. I’m simply being smarter about multitasking. Kids either move super slow or super fast. I’ve started to write during the super slow periods. I write the most when I am feeding the baby. There’s really not much else to do then.

I’m proud to say that it has been working pretty well. I’ve banged out three picture book manuscripts that I hope to send out next week (fingers crossed). I had to remind myself that I don’t have to write everything all at once. If I tried it that way, I’d probably spend an ungodly amount of time simply staring at the screen.

Instead, I’m getting inspiration from my kids. I takes notes on my phone and transfer them over to a Word document once I have something I can really work with. It may not work for some, but it works for me. That’s my current writing process. I’m just glad that I finally have one after all this time.

Leave a Reply

