Quarterlife+


Mom today, Mom yesterday

Posted in Uncategorized by Ashley Franklin on April 23, 2015
Tags: , , , , , , ,

To be honest, yesterday is pretty inaccurate. My grandma is my bestie. I literally talk to her every single day on the phone. What I find amazing is that my grandma had 8 kids. Five of them were boys. Now, I have two boys. Just the idea of there being three of them is the stuff my nightmares.

If you are friends with me on Facebook or follow me on Twitter, you are well aware that my boys are a handful and a half. You’ll probably find it odd that out of all of the unwanted parenting advice that I’ve received, NONE of it has come from my grandma. She could easily dish it out, but she chooses not to. If I flat out ask her advice, she’s not short on it. She can truly be an asset. What I found to be truly surprising in one of conversations about having a bunch of kids is that she said she wouldn’t suggest it today.

I didn’t see that coming from someone who had enough children to populate a sports team. Her logic was plain and simple: Things are a lot different now. I’ve heard countless stories of my grandma’s neighborhood where neighbors pitched in and helped take care of each other and their kids. (I don’t know if this was just an isolated incident in her neighborhood, but it sounds good.) My grandma still lives in the same neighborhood. That level of neighborhood camaraderie isn’t as prevalent as it once was, but many of the older residents still hang onto it.

When I think of “back in the day,” I think of extreme hatred and racism run rampant. That’s how she sees today. Deep, right? In a society that always wants better for the next generation, could it be possible that we’ve altogether missed the mark?

If so, how did that happen?

Recently I read a blog post of a mom who chronicled her and other moms’ stories of dealing with the police after concerned citizens saw their kids were left unattended in their cars.

Why did I bring in the mom/kid/car thing? I think it goes to show that we still do have concerned citizens. Maybe we’re just not altogether too sure of what we should be concerned about.

Regardless of any differences (age, religion, race, etc.), I think everyone can agree that most of us want to raise our children in a loving, nurturing, and safe environment.

My question: Can we truly offer our children that environment today?

Leave a Reply

