Quarterlife+


Let there be writing!

Posted in Uncategorized by Ashley Franklin on May 17, 2015
Tags: ,

I hate that I haven’t posted in a while, but I have a good reason: I’ve been writing. I have the selfish life goal of wanting to publish in several genres before I kick the bucket, so I’ve been trying to figure out how to go about it.

Right now I’ve been focusing on picture book manuscripts. I’ve submitted three so far. I tend to have a different picture book idea every few days, I’ve been developing them as they come. I have an excellent panel of reviewers (my mom, sister, hubby, and homie Tricia-Hey girl!). I let my mother-in-law and Mom Mom read my stuff to before I send it off, but they’re more like cheerleaders. My panel, especially my sister is rough! Her idea of praise: “It actually doesn’t suck.” I love it!

I’ve researched publishers and submitted the manuscripts I’ve finished to the ones I thought were a good fit. All I can do now is keep writing and keep my fingers crossed for the tragically long waits. Yeah, it’s a wait 4-6 months and if you don’t hear anything, keep it moving type of situation.

Wish me luck.

Leave a Reply

