Quarterlife+


Breastfeeding: Cheap and Lazy

Posted in children by Ashley Franklin on May 29, 2015
Tags: , , , , , , ,

I used to go on Cafe Mom. I was a part of a few groups. You know how some online groups can be-full of drama. I can mass produce my own drama at will, so I don’t have the time for it. Every now and then I get those emailed updates that try to bait you in. I took the bait.

There was a very upset woman whose friend called her cheap and lazy because she breastfed. I don’t know about you, but I don’t have friends that agree with every little thing that I do. In fact, most of my friends and I have gotten into it at one time or another. Isn’t that to be expected with any type of relationship? (If not, let me know. Maybe I’m doing it wrong.)

Everyone’s situation may be different. I can only speak on my own experiences. I have bottle fed, breastfed, pumped, used powdered formula, and used ready-made formula. Yeah, so where do I fall on the breast is best spectrum?

How did I end up using all of these combinations? Easy:

My first kid was a preemie and in a hospital over two hours away. I had to pump for over a month. While my supply was getting established, was I going to tell the nurses to simply let him starve because I was ride or die breast milk? Ummmm…no.

Then, he was so small that he easily tired out when I put him on the breast. As a result, I had to pump and put it in a bottle for a few months more.

With both kids, for random and separate health reasons, I had to take medicine that wasn’t good for them at all. I had to pump and dump. They had formula. (The hospital gave me ready-made. The doctor gave me powder.)

Is breastfeeding cheap? I am cheap. When I had to buy formula, I literally shrieked in the grocery store. Formula is expensive! The longest I had to buy it for a continuous duration was for about a month and a half, and I was not amused.

Is breastfeeding lazy? Getting up to make bottles? Give me a break. That’s wasted energy. Keeping track of how long the formula had been in the fridge and wondering if I had water on hand for powdered formula were time-consuming and a headache. I longed for the days when I could simply flip out a boob.

Would I have been upset if my friend had called me cheap and lazy for breastfeeding? No. I would’ve called her a wasteful overachiever and laughed it off.

I don’t know about you, but for me, breastfeeding is cheap, lazy, and genius.

Leave a Reply

