Quarterlife+


Life after fireworks: Living in the lackluster

Posted in Uncategorized by Ashley Franklin on July 5, 2015
Tags: , , , , , ,

Ah, fireworks! I’m sure that many of you can still see their vivid colors and feel the sound of their explosions if you close your eyes and steady yourselves. I didn’t watch any fireworks yesterday. They leave me with a weird feeling–an emptiness if you will. Fireworks displays are so over-the-top. They’re captivating. They engulf you. They command the stillness that comes with undivided attention yet set emotions free to run wild.

Then they’re over. Just like that, they’re over. The sky is still. Nightlife is given back its voice. You are an individual again and not a part of a collective. You’re no longer experiencing the same sense of awe.

For me, that’s how life works. We have these milestones-birth, graduation, birthdays, marriage, etc.–and then we have all of the days of everyday living in between.

Just recently, I’ve had to remind myself of the importance of the in between days. It’s been a while since I’ve had one of those fireworks days, and I was starting to feel kind of cruddy. I have realized that it’s the in between days that have allowed me to have the fireworks. Instead of thinking of these days as low points or lackluster, I should be thinking of them as days of character building. So, I will. How about you?

Leave a Reply

