Quarterlife+


New Writing Strategy Needed

Posted in Uncategorized by Ashley Franklin on November 24, 2015

Okay, I’ll be perfectly honest: I really didn’t think writing picture books would be this labor intensive.

How hard could it be? Ridiculously hard.

I am now at the point where I believe anyone who gets a picture book traditionally published should be showered with confetti that appears out of midair (mid air…thin air…out of the blue…whatever).

There’s so much to say in a picture book with so little room to say it!There are so many rules/guidelines to follow/break. (Shout out to my critique group for having the gift of balance: this is crap/ we love this!)

The time that I’m spending revising and looking up agent information is starting to rival my actual writing time. I’m not too sure that I like that. I’m thinking about maybe dividing my year in half. Maybe I’ll spend half of the year focused on writing and revising and the second half querying and submitting.

I only came up with this plan today, so I’ll likely go back and forth over it a great deal over the next couple of days.

Leave a Reply

