Quarterlife+


Susanna Hill’s Holiday Contest

PiBoIdMo really encouraged me to come out of my shell and take chances with my writing. So, here I am taking a chance at a holiday contest (weird for me, right?). In a nutshell, the contest was to write a story beginning with any version of “Rocking around the Christmas tree at the Christmas party hop.”  Without further ado, here goes nothing (oh, and it helps if you sing along):

Picture Perfect

Sniffin’ around some strangers’ legs

while my human’s fixing food.

Music and spices fill the air;

it’s a really festive mood.

 

Circling ’round this indoor tree

cuz I really have to go.

Box after box is in my way.

Why’s my human screaming “NO!”?

 

Going through my doggy door,

I just don’t understand

why I’m in the cold. It’s snowing!

Thankfully, I’m finally going

 

back inside in front the fireplace.

There’s my human all alone.

Snuggled up close we happily

take some selfies with his phone.

10 Responses to 'Susanna Hill’s Holiday Contest'

Subscribe to comments with RSS or TrackBack to 'Susanna Hill’s Holiday Contest'.

  1. JEN Garrett said,

    Whew, he made it. Great story.

    • transego said,

      Haha. Thanks for reading!

  2. kdveiten said,

    Such a cute story !

    • transego said,

      Thank you!

  3. Gabi Snyder said,

    Clever POV and fun story. Well done!

    • transego said,

      Thanks! After reading yours, I have an overwhelming desire to watch The Jetsons. 🙂


  4. Hahaha. I bet that human was yelling NO alright. Funny spin.

    • transego said,

      Thanks! A neighbor’s dog in my yard gave me the idea.

  5. Gregory E Bray said,

    Lots of great animal stories in this competition. Nice work. =)


  6. OMG! I love this Ashley! Perfect doggy POV! 🙂 Because really, why should he have to go out in the cold when there’s a perfectly good tree inside?! 🙂 And good job with the meter! Happy Holidays, and thanks so much for joining in the contest fun!


Leave a Reply

