Quarterlife+


I wasn’t a finalist, but that’s okay.

Posted in Writing by Ashley Franklin on December 15, 2015
Tags: , , , , , , ,

So, as my previous post mentioned, I submitted an entry to Susanna Leonard Hill’s holiday contest. I spent around 2 hours writing it, so I”m not upset about it.

I”m probably not upset for the reasons that you think. Do I think that I would’ve done better if I’d spent more time on it? Nope! It usually takes me a shorter amount of time to write something when my “creative juices” are flowing, and the neighbor’s dog peeing on my tree gave me all of the inspiration that I needed. What a muse!

Here’s what I got out of entering the contest:

  1. I’m over my fear of failure/ rejection. I haven’t submitted to that many agents, but I’ve submitted to enough to get me a little down in the dumps.
  2. Friggin’ Susanna Leonard Hill read and commented on something I wrote.
  3. Other writers read and commented on something that I wrote.
  4. I found more writing resources!

All in all, it was not a bad two hours spent.

Leave a Reply

