Quarterlife+


Writing Goals vs. Writing Expectations

Posted in Writing by Ashley Franklin on January 3, 2016
Tags: , , , , , , ,

I feel like goals and resolutions give you too much wiggle room not to do them. You don’t meet a goal, hey, you just set a new one. If resolutions stuck, some people wouldn’t be making the same ones every single year. That’s just my personal opinion.

That being said, I have some writing expectations for 2016. I expect to write at least 12 picture book drafts. That is a lofty goal. If it wasn’t there wouldn’t be a 12X12 group. I don’t need cheerleaders like that. I’m sure that works for some folk, but a big, organized group would probably do me more harm than good at this point. Why? I hate when people feel left out, so I always feel obligated to respond or help or lend an “ear.” I’m not going to get much written if I keep letting myself get distracted. Does that mean I just don’t care about anyone else’s writing goals? No! Do I believe that we’re all in this together? No! We’re not. Wait…that’s a good thing.

Each writer has his/her strengths, weaknesses, hopes, and dreams. Personally, I think that my own desires are pushing me towards needing more critique partners and spending more time actually writing.

Will I still be available to lend a helping hand or an ear to someone who is up and coming like myself? Of course! I just have to pace myself.

Oh, so what’s my other writing expectation for the year? I plan on writing a middle grade novel. I bet you didn’t see that coming, lol.

I have huge expectations, I know. But, I’ve already written two picture book drafts since the 1st of the year. Are they polished? No. There’s a picture book revision week/ month starting soon, and I’m saving revisions for that time.

I’m  all for working smarter in 2016. Let’s see how this goes. Wish me luck, good fortune, and growth.

 

Leave a Reply

