Quarterlife+


Timing is Everything

Posted in Writing by Ashley Franklin on February 6, 2016
Tags: , , , ,

In a nutshell, I was too early. I queried too early, and I’m not trying to make that same mistake this time. You see, the thing is, it wasn’t until towards the end of the year that I realized that I’d queried agents too early.

I can say that now because I can admit that I had no idea what I was doing. I was also in a rush. I was in a rush without realizing that I needed to spend more time cultivating my writing. I know that I’ve said it before, but I’ll say it again because it’s so true:

It’s one thing to write. It’s something totally different to write something according to industry, agent, or publisher expectations.

That’s not to say that you write for them, but you do at least need to make sure that your writing matches their interests when you go to submit. You want your writing to show that you know what you’re doing.

Trust me. It’ll save you a lot of time and wasted energy. unnecessary stress.

Leave a Reply

